South African Environmental Observation Network

Strategic Partners

Primary Investor:
The Department of Science and Innovation (DST), which provides  core funding on an annual but long-term basis

Lead organisation:
National Research Foundation (NRF)

Affiliated organisations

Council for Geosciences


Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University

North West University

University of Cape Town

University of Limpopo

University of Pretoria

University of Stellenbosch

University of Venda

University of Witwatersrand

Node Hosts

Arid Lands Node:South African National Parks (SANParks)

Ndlovu Node: South African National Parks (SANParks)

Elwandle Node: South African Institute for Aquatic Biodiversity (SAIAB)

Egagasini Node: Department of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries (DEFF)

Fynbos Node: South African National Biodiversity Institute (SANBI)

Grasslands-Forests-Wetlands Node: Ezemvelo KZN Wildlife